Kegging the Honey Wheat

So, I kegged the honey wheat over the weekend.  It went pretty well.  I bottled an additional 14 bottles to take back to Seattle to share as well as taste later for flavor comparison.

I’m gonna leave it in the keg for a couple weeks then hopefully have it ready before we leave for Seattle on May 16.

Shelley was working and was not around for the process, but I took some video to show the process.  You’ll have to excuse the video as I was taking video of myself so it’s not that great.  But I’m not trying to win any awards here.

This first one is my set up and filling the keg itself.

This is how I bottle the beer.

I took some new measurements prior to kegging.

My potential alcohol by volume is a bit high at 6.87%.  Ouch.  Maybe I put too much honey in there.  But I’m only drinking this in my own home, so who really cares?  It has appx. 204 calories per 12 oz serving.

The aroma was outstanding.  The laundry room smelled wonderful during the whole process.  The flavor really hasn’t jumped out yet.  Maybe after sitting in the keg and then under some pressure for a few weeks, it will fill out.  The Pumpkin Spice certainly did.  No reason to think this won’t.

I’ll keep you updated as I get closer to that first pour.

4 Responses to “Kegging the Honey Wheat”

  1. Kegging the Honey Wheat Video Says:

    […] the Honey Wheat Collected by rich and shelley 2 hours ago from newsfromsummitridge.wordpre… // Event.onDOMReady(function() { // sizeText($(‘video_title’), 475); // }) collect this […]

    Like

  2. trexmom Says:

    I wish I could have partaken in the smell.

    Thanks for stopping in for dinner the other night – hopefully we’ll see both of you soon!

    Like

  3. rich Says:

    I’ll have you over next time I keg my beer. I can even wear my speedo if you’d like!

    Like

  4. shell Says:

    I am soooo looking forward to our new beer. Honey is perfect for summer.

    Don’t go and scare trexmom away with threats like that…

    Like


Leave a Reply

