Updates

My wrist is getting a little better each day.  I had the stitches out on Tuesday and that allowed for a lot more flexibility in my wrist.  I tried to open a new jar of peanut butter the other day and couldn’t do it.  I can’t set or release the parking brake on my car either.  Basically anything that requires a grip with my thumb and twisting has issues.  I can type and hold a screwdriver, but I can’t really do anything that takes even a little bit of strength.  I told my Sgt last week that I would be out till New Years Day now.  I just don’t see having the strength to fire my gun by Christmas.  I’m also concerned about using my right hand to throw a suspect to the ground or have to break my fall.  By New Years I should be okay for those things.

It has been snowing here for the past two days.  We had to shovel the drive way twice yesterday and will have to do it again this morning after a slight dusting overnight.  I can push a shovel with my hand as long as I keep the pressure off the wrist.

The house is pretty much ready for Christmas.  We are hosting our neighborhood Christmas Party on Thursday night and then Shelley’s work Christmas Party is next Saturday.  In preparation for the neighborhood party we are getting the new carpet put in upstairs in our office loft.  That is the last part of the living room area where the remodeling isn’t finished.  The new wrought iron railings are in but the tops of the wood newel posts I built are not capped, and some of the molding around the edges are not finished.  Once the carpet is in it will look nicer.   The photo on the left is the installed railings and unfinished newel posts.  The photo on the right is one of the finished newel posts as an example of what they all will look like once they are complete.  There is some touch up painting that will have to be done as well.

On Saturday night T-Rex mom and dad and Sue and Hawk all went down to dinner at Shige Japanese Steak house that is run by Shelley’s (and others) favorite sushi restaurant, Shige.  The owner’s name is Shige and that’s him in the picture on their home page as well as the chef that made us all dinner.  That’s T-Rex mom and dad in the background.  T-Rex himself was left at home with grandma so they could have a night out without the toddler.  A rare occasion to be sure.

One Response to “Updates”

  1. T Rex Mom Says:

    Great photo from dinner! Thanks! It was a fun outing! I hope we can do this again soon. And yes, very nice without the T Rex in tow!

    I can’t wait to see the loft area. It will look nice when you’re all done. You guys do have the party house.

    And hopefully the wrist will continue to heal nicely. It looked good on Saturday.

    Like


Leave a Reply

