Christmas Eve

On Christmas Eve Shelley and I went over to my sister’s house for dinner.  My sister Carol also joined us for dinner along with Sylvia and Bruce’s kids, Nick and Lauren.  Nick’s fiance, Sachiyo, was also in town visiting for the holiday.  It was nice meeting Sachiyo after hearing so much about her and only seeing her in pictures.

Bruce and Sylvia made a prime rib (along with all the fixings of mashed potatoes, green beans and jello salad) and I brought over a growler of my latest home brew, the 2009 Pumpkin Spice Ale.  Sylvia had lots of snacks and candies as well for pre-loading before dinner.  For dessert, Sylvia made an upside down cranberry cake and eggnog lattes from their espresso machine.

We then exchanged some gifts and Carol and I found out that Sylvia had already eaten two the three fruit cakes that Laurene sent to her.  Sylvia didn’t realize that two of the fruit cakes were for Carol and I.  She just figured she was extra special this year, I guess.  Carol and I split 50/50 the last remaining fruit cake.  Too bad I wasn’t fast enough with the camera to catch Sylvia’s expression when she realized the three fruit cakes were for the three of us.  That was pretty funny.  Bruce went into the kitchen and brought out a little sandwich bag with the last few crumbles of the remaining second fruit cake for us to, well, sample.  It was all very funny.

We brought Jake and Ripley with us too.  They love going over to the Bratney Farm.  Since it was the holidays, some of the normal rules are relaxed for the dogs.  Mainly in the kitchen.  We don’t allow our dogs in the kitchen while dinner is being prepared, but with the huge prime rib being prepared, it was worth the photo op.  As you’ll see, all three dogs got big prime rib bones at the end.

Carol was wearing our mom’s battery operated Christmas light necklace.  She wasn’t able to find a battery for it so it wasn’t on, but that was pretty neat she had it.  My presents to my brothers and sisters were all the CD’s I picked out from our mom’s estate back in September.  I picked out a lot of Christmas music, Bing Crosby for instance, plus a bunch of others.  So I copied them all to mp3 and made up two CD’s worth of music for everyone.  That’s what everyone is holding in the photo farther down.  The third CD in that collection are all the photos I have ever taken of our mom.  Some of those everyone already has, but many of them they do not since I took them.  That CD also contained all the photos I took while in Seattle for our mom’s memorial.

Here are some pictures of the evening.

Here’s the snack spread on the kitchen island.  The large growler next to the cake in the foreground is my homebrew.  Everything else is all Sylvia.

Here’s Lauren preparing the red jello salad.  She looks like a model posing with that food, doesn’t she?

Bruce was every dog’s best friend.

Everyone gathered around the dinner table.

Presents and dessert.

And we couldn’t leave out the dogs.

2 Responses to “Christmas Eve”

  1. T Rex Mom Says:

    Looks like a really nice time. We went to T Rex Dad’s sister’s place last night – also somewhat of a farm with lots of dogs, cats, and horses. Tonight we head over to my sister’s place.

    By the way, T Rex LOVES the T Rex you guys got him. I’m posting photos now.

    Merry Christmas!

    Like

  2. Sylvia Says:

    I’m glad you thought the fruitcake story was funny because I really feel like a “fruitcake”, I’m so embarrested!

    Like


Leave a Reply

