Seattle House Update, final

I got an email from our contractor the other day confirming the basement is now officially finished.  Well, not officially finished since the final inspection won’t happen till the shower is finished.  Shelley and I are finishing the shower tile ourselves when we come out on vacation.  But other then that…..it’s finished.  So, here are some photos of the final product.

These first ones are from in the bathroom.  Two other things we are doing ourselves include the door pulls on the cabinets and hanging the mirrors.  The problem with the mirrors is we just don’t know how high to make them in relation to us.  Gloria called me and asked where I wanted them mounted and all I could tell her was I wanted them mounted at a height where I would not have to duck to see myself.  Obviously, that couldn’t be done over the phone so we decided to do them ourselves when we come out in April.

In the laundry room, the floor has been put in and all the trim is finished.  They installed the floor wrong the first time and had to go back and do it over.  Gloria is great with the subs making sure everything is right.  So she made them tear it out and redo it.  We are installing the door pulls in the laundry room as well.

Onto the bedroom.  The photo on the left is the egress window and the one of the right is the closet.  The bathroom is on the other side of wall behind the closet.  I would have preferred to have french doors for the closet, but there just wasn’t enough room for them to swing out so we went with the sliding doors.  You may notice there is no hardware on the closet, but this photo was taken some time ago.  The small window next to the closet is an awning style window.  The laundry room has a window just like it over the washer/dryer.

There was a lot of little dead spaces in the basement framing that we left open and will use for art niches.  The biggest one is in the laundry room.  We’ll use this for shelf storage, but the one at the bottom of the stairs will have a low voltage lamp in it for some type of art.  The door next to the art niche on the right is the laundry room doorway.

Here’s the new stairs and handrail.  The floors are bamboo as is the handrail.

Not much happening in the office, other then the colors.  The handrail for the stairs is lying on the floor.  The two doors in the office are installed but this photo was taken before the door handles were put on.  The door on the right goes to the furnace, the one on the left is a closet.

The living room is all that is left to show off.  On the left are the alcoves (more dead spaces) that will be used as shelves.  On the right is the final over all photo of the living room.  It’s not really that crooked as the photo shows.

I can’t wait to see the final product in person.  I am flying back to Seattle for the Mariners’ Opening Night so I still have to wait a couple months.  I’ll post some more about the basement once I get to Seattle and get the furniture moved down stairs.  Maybe I’ll even make a little movie and post the video.  Just like HGTV!

5 Responses to “Seattle House Update, final”

  1. T Rex Mom Says:

    Wow! The blue room is my favorite – I like the color you selected. Looks great – you must be happy to have this project nearly completed.

    Like

  2. happy tourist Says:

    Can’t wait to see it in person!

    Like

  3. Bob Hernon Says:

    Amazing transformation. Mom would have loved to see that. I can’t wait to see mom’s furniture in there!

    Like

  4. rich Says:

    I can’t wait to get over there in April and start getting it set up with the furniture too. I just hope I can get the secretary downstairs and get it all set up without balling my head off.

    Like

  5. First Impressions « News From Summit Ridge Says:

    […] this is your first peek at the Seattle house remodel, you can see part 1, part 2 and part 3 at these […]

    Like


Leave a Reply

