First Impressions

Wow!

Amazing!

Incredible!

What a transformation!

I really can not put into words the basement.  I know it’s just a basement, but I lived in that basement for 11 years.  When I bought the house in 1998 I dreamed that one day I would remodel it and have it finished.  I drew up plans numerous times.  Now, it’s done. 

I have to say first off, that Shelley did so much with the design and decorating down there that this project would never have turned out the way it did without her.  I can’t imagine how many things I would have screwed up had she not been around.  She may not think so, but there was a lot of her ideas went into this basement.  She is so smart when it comes to decorating, matching colors and coming up with ideas to solve problems.  We had very few disagreements during the process too.  When I stood my ground on some ideas she let me run with it and didn’t demand anything from me or the design.

Shelley, you were great.  I really wish you could be here to see it first hand. 

If this is your first peek at the Seattle house remodel, you can see part 1, part 2 and part 3 at these links. 

I keep saying it, but I just can’t get over how much of a change it is.  And, really, how much room is down there.  Even the walk in shower has a lot of space.  I can’t believe how comfortable it all is.  The only part that seems a little cramped is the laundry room, but I guess that’s a good thing as it made more room for other parts of the basement.  Afterall, it’s just a laundry room.

I was really concerned about the height of the ceiling.  With the added leveling compound that had to go down, the thickness of the hardwoods and the drop of the ceiling, I thought I’d really feel more cramped then I do.  Don’t get me wrong, it is only 86″ high, but there isn’t any spot in the basement that I have to duck.  Even when passing through the hallway door that is inline with the main beam.  It looks kinda funny.  But it was necessary due to the support beam.

Robert helped me move some furniture downstairs this afternoon.  We got the bed, dresser, armoire, two chairs and the couch all moved down this afternoon.  Yes, the red couch fit.  It was a little interesting (and we had to take one door off), but we got it down the stairs and around the corner.  It is even short enough to fit in the living room and still allow enough room to walk around each side.  I don’t know if that’s where it will end up in the final layout, but it works for right now.

The electrician nailed the outlets, reading lights and switches near the bed.  He placed them perfectly on either side of the headboard.  There’s enough room on each side of the bed for the night stands and lamps as well.  Great job.

These pictures of the bedroom were taken using a feature on the camera that merges two photos together in a panoramic style photo.  So, the wierd distortions in the photo are from that process.  I didn’t bring our SLR camera with the wide-angle, so I had to use this process to get the whole room in the frame.

I am only including a couple of pictures here of the bedroom and the living room for right now.  I still have some things to put away and furniture to move from the patio to the basement.  I’ll get that done tomorrow.  Once that is done and cleaned up I’ll get some more pictures in a post tomorrow.

I love just sitting down there.  We don’t have any stereo equipment yet.  That will come out in April and June when we bring the truck.  But just hanging out and reading or playing on the computer is pretty nice. 

Obviously I’ve been thinking about my mom and dad a lot too.  Especially with the couch and the painting down there with me.  The secretary will follow tomorrow.  There are going to be a lot of things over the next few decades that I will sit back and say, “I wish she/he was here to see this.”  For my dad, that ‘wishing’ started a long time ago, but this is really the first big event that my mom is missing.  Afterall, she lived in this house for 12 years too.  I have a few ideas about what she would say and I can picture her walking down the stairs saying them too.  My dad would probably be upset I took that shop out…..lol.  Well, the patio might make up for that.

When I was growing up (after we moved back up here from California) we bounced from rental house to rental house every year till we settled into that apartment on Mercer Island.  After that I went into the Army.  When I came home, I came home to this house.  And then lived in that dungy basement for 11 years!  I actually thought I had a pretty good thing back then.

Wow.

Well, once again, I think I have a pretty good thing.

One Response to “First Impressions”

  1. Shell Says:

    Looks very good. I can’t wait to see it in person in a few weeks. It was your vision of what it could be that got it all started. Have fun at the game too!

    Like


Leave a Reply

