Today’s Thought on Capitalism and Freedom

So, I added my person to the gathering last Thursday at the Capital rally.  There was some good stuff said and talked about and some stuff that isn’t what I am upset about.  But I guess that’s the case at any rally.  There were also some wackos there too.  Again, I’m sure they are in every crowd.  Since it was a public gathering, the organizers can’t control who shows up.  So the 9/11 Truthers showed up with their signs.  Here are some pictures of the event.

There were some good speakers and some not so good.  One of the not so good is a good example of my issues with this Tea Party movement in general.  These two girls got up and gave a speech and they made points like, “America is a Christian Country,” and other statements about marriage, gay rights and abortion.  That’s not the reason I was down there.  I think they need to have a better understanding of the First Amendment when it comes to religion.  A doctor got up and talked about the health care bill and made some good points about the bill that does go to the foundation of my aggravation with Congress.  There was a 17-year-old high school kid that got up and gave a really good speech.  In fact, it was the speech that he won the Idaho State Speech Championship and took him to the National Speech Competition where he came in second.  His was pretty good.  He spoke about individual responsibility, the Bill of Rights, James Adams and The Federalist Papers.  He was pretty good.

There were some pretty good signs and lots of flags too.  Here are some of my favorite that I saw.

The the sign being held by the guy in the right photo above was my second favorite.  It says, “Spread my work ethic, not my wealth.”  I like that one.  However, my favorite is the guy below on the left.  “King George didn’t listen to us either.”  That was my favorite.  And of course the two most popular flags at the event.

Of course, you had your idiots.  Like this guy (there was actually three of them).  These guys got a lot of attention.  The media tried to talk to them (why, I don’t know) and as soon as the camera turned on, two ladies stood between the camera and the guy with the sign and basically got in the way.  They didn’t say anything, just stood there.  No finger pointing or in-your-face stuff.  Just two middle age women who weren’t going to move.  More people started to gather around the three guys and they probably started to wonder if this was such a good idea.  After a few minutes, the crowd around them dissipated and they were left alone again.

The opposition was there as well.  I have pretty funny story about them.  When I first got there, I noticed them standing off to the side in a group, but didn’t think much of them.  I read a couple of their signs.  “Let everyone pay their fair share,” “Compassion is a family value,” “Shouting down civil discourse is un-American.”  I thought, yeah, that’s good.  I had no idea they were Obama supporters.  It wasn’t until an hour or so later when some of them would peel off and walk through the crowd with their signs that I saw stuff like, “Health care is an inalienable right,” and “A gun owner who supports Obama,” that I realized they were the opposition.

Now, the funny part.  When I read some of their signs I agreed with them.  Well, of course I would.  I’m not a radical nut case.  I just believe in my own liberty and the right to make my own decisions.  I also believe that there are consequences to those choices and if you makes poor choices, I don’t believe I should have to pay for your choices.  Unless I want to.  If you want to get pregnant at 16, or shoot meth, or smoke, or abuse alcohol, or eat poorly, or drop out of school, or sell drugs, or get in trouble with the law (you get my point I’m sure), then I shouldn’t have to pay for you unless I want to.  The government doesn’t have the right to take my money against my will and give it to you.

That is what the basis of this Tea Party movement had been.  I’m not sure it’s what it is now.  That’s too bad.  I hope I’m wrong.

4 Responses to “Today’s Thought on Capitalism and Freedom”

  1. T Rex Mom Says:

    Great photos. I am glad you were there to give us the full scoop. What would your sign have said if you carried one?

    Like

  2. rich Says:

    Wow, I don’t know. I like John Adams so maybe, “Children should be educated and instructed in the principles of freedom,” Or…….ominously, “Remember, democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There is never a democracy that did not commit suicide.”

    Like

  3. Bob Hernon Says:

    You might want to get some more material from the founders of our country that helped shape the constitution and bill of rights. You said, “I think they need to have a better understanding of the First Amendment when it comes to religion”, but those guys brought religion into all kinds of political discourse. The first Amendment was not designed to shut religious discourse out of politics, it was designed to ensure religious discourse would not be suppressed by government. That’s why they call it the bill of “rights” – to ensure federalists don’t shut the people up as secularists are trying to do in modern times.

    As for the fallacy about morality and politics, I’ll send you some e-mail. The government has to legislate someone’s morality, or you have chaos. And it it’s godless morality, there’s no rational basis left for non-aggressive morality.

    See my e-mail.

    Like

  4. rich Says:

    Maybe these two girls just didn’t write their speech very well and I didn’t explain it well in my post. I have no problem with religion in political discourse or in speeches at Tea Parties. However, the way their speech was written implied that only Christian beliefs should be allowed.

    As far as morality goes, I was just talking about the Tea Party movement in general. The movement didn’t spring up over a disagreement over gay rights, or abortion. It sprung up as an angry, frustrated voice over the government’s tax policy and over-involvement in my personal life and other private affairs. It started with Rick Santelli’s rant on CNBC about the economic policies of our government (both Bush and Obama, by the way). I just think it needs to stay focused on that issue and leave the gay rights, abortion and religion out of the debate.

    When detractors say that the Tea Party is just an extreme version of right-wing conservatism, they are correct. I’m afraid that is where the movement is heading. The Tea Party needs to be independent and fight against economic policies that will be the downfall of our country as we know it. A good example of that independence is the the endorsement of Walt Minnick here in Idaho. It’s not about Guantanamo.

    I don’t want to be a part of a right-wing movement any more then I want to be a party to a left-wing movement.

    Like


Leave a Reply

