Today’s Thought on Capitalism and Freedom

“By a continuing process of inflation, Governments can confiscate, secretly and unobserved, an important part of the wealth of their citizens.  By this method they not only confiscate, but they confiscate arbitrarily; and, while the process impoverishes many, it actually enriches some.  Those to whom the system brings windfalls become “profiteers” who are the object of the hatred…..the process of wealth-getting degenerates into a gamble and a lottery.  Lenin was certainly right.  There is no subtler, no surer means of overturning the existing basis of society than to debauch the currency.  The process engages all the hidden forces of economic law on the side of destruction, and does it in a manner which not one man in a million is able to diagnose.”

2 Responses to “Today’s Thought on Capitalism and Freedom”

  1. Doug Says:

    Rich, I stumbled across your Blog by complete accident and found it a very enjoyable read. As both a Cold War and Gulf War veteran and retired Air Force, I wanted to send a heartfelt “thank you” for the your blog entry regarding veterans on Veterans Day 2012. I take extreme pride in my 20 year military career and my commitment to uphold the values that our nation was founded on. I can’t speak for all veterans, but I can say that reading comments like yours or having a complete stranger walk up to me, shake my hand and say “thank you” means more to me than any medals or decorations I have ever received in the military. It’s humbling, puts a lump in my throat and brings tears to my eyes. Many of my brothers and sisters have paid the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom and there is such a difference in how Americans view military service now compared to when I initially joined (1970’s). Again, “thank you” for remembering! Doug

    Like

  2. rich Says:

    Thank you, Doug, for dedicating 20 years of your life to the service of our country. I have co-workers who are retired military, I have family who fought in the Gulf War and Panama, I have friends who, more recently, have done combat tours in Iraq and Afghanistan and my father fought in the South Pacific in WWII. Me? I was peace time Army from 85-90. So it’s easy for me to recognize the service of men like yourself and really understand the sacrifice to your own life and your family that was made in that service. I just try to use this blog to remind others that military service is never just a “job.” I wish more people really understood.

    Thank you.

    Thank you also for stopping by the blog and dropping a note.

    Like


Leave a Reply

